Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 06/23/2022

Shigeru Ban, Princess of Asturias Award for Concord

Considered the foremost activist of architecture by the specialized press, Shigeru Ban has achieved international prestige for being able to provide shelters and temporary housing as a rapid, effective response to extreme and devastating situations caused mostly by natural disasters


Japanese architect Shigeru Ban has been bestowed with the 2022 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord, as announced today by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.

The Jury for this Award –convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation– was chaired by Adrián Barbón Rodríguez, President of the Principality of Asturias, and composed of Fernando de Almansa Moreno-Barreda Viscount of Castillo de Almansa, Ernesto Antolin Arribas, José Antonio Caicoya Cores, Manuel Contreras Caro, Sol Daurella Comadrán, Ignacio Eyriès García de Vinuesa, Isidro Fainé Casas, José Antonio Fernández Rivero, Luis Fernández-Vega Sanz, Ana González Rodríguez, Alicia Koplowitz Romero de Juséu, Laureano Lourido Artime, Marcelino Marcos Líndez, Adolfo Menéndez Menéndez, Enrique Moreno González, Carlos Navalpotro Fuster, María del Pino Calvo-Sotelo, Marc Puig Guasch, Gregorio Rabanal Martínez, Helena Revoredo de Gut, Matías Rodríguez Inciarte, Juan Sánchez-Calero Guilarte, Gonzalo Sánchez Martínez, Antonio Suárez Gutiérrez, Gonzalo Urquijo y Fernández de Araoz, Manuel Villa-Cellino Torre, Maarten Wetselaar, Ignacio Ybarra Aznar and Pedro de Silva Cienfuegos-Jovellanos (as acting secretary).

This candidature was put forward by María Sheila Cremaschi, Director of the Hay Festival Segovia (Hay Festival of Literature and Arts, 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities) and was seconded by Kenji Hiramatsu, Ambassador of Japan to Spain.

Shigeru Ban (Tokyo, Japan, 5th August 1957) spent his childhood and adolescence in his native country convinced that carpentry would be his trade. The task of making a model of a house for his art class when he was in secondary school sparked his vocation for architecture, while an article in a specialized magazine led him to become interested in the works of American architect and theorist John Hejduk. From that moment onwards, his goal was to move to the United States to train as a draughtsman-designer. In 1977, he enrolled at the Southern California Institute of Architecture, where he studied until 1980. That same year, he moved to New York to continue his training at The Cooper Union School of Architecture, where Hejduk was dean. He graduated in 1984, after combining his university studies with working for a year (1982-1983) in Arata Isozaki’s studio. In 1985, he established his own firm in Tokyo, which currently also has offices in New York and Paris. His work as an architect is complemented by that of teaching at universities such as Tokyo, Harvard and Cornell (the latter two in the USA).

Considered the foremost activist of architecture by the specialized press, Shigeru Ban has achieved international prestige for being able to provide shelters and temporary housing as a rapid, effective response to extreme and devastating situations caused mostly by natural disasters. This response takes the form of high-quality designs, conceived on the basis of unconventional and reusable materials, and of constructions in which privacy and aesthetics are important factors, because, in Ban’s opinion, they contribute to improving the psychological wellbeing of their occupants. A pioneer in the nineteen eighties of environmental awareness and sustainability, he was also concerned with expanding the role of the architect, cooperating with governments, philanthropists, public organizations and communities affected by some type of disaster. In 1995, he was appointed advisor to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and established the Voluntary Architect’s Network (VAN), an NGO whose mission is to transform the concept of temporary housing for emergency situations.

Today, plastic, wood, fabric, paper and, above all, cardboard constitute his allies when it comes to designing his emergency architectures, in which the priority is maximum respect for the future inhabitants of these spaces and their dignity. Using cardboard, Ban designs cylinders that, after receiving a polyurethane treatment, become a solid base for erecting structures at a minimum cost. The design for an Alvar Aalto exhibition at MoMA (New York) in 1986 allowed him to experiment with those paper tubes. He subsequently used them in prototypes of temporary housing to accommodate refugees in Rwanda, after the 1994 genocide, and in Kobe (Japan), following the 1995 earthquake. This system has also been used for the construction of private spaces for Ukrainian refugees on the border with Poland during the crisis resulting from the Russian invasion. He is currently studying the possibility of replacing steel structures with the lightness and resistance of carbon fibre, which would facilitate transport, storage and assembly.

Holder of the Pritzker Architecture Prize (2014) and honorary degrees from the Technical University of Munich (Germany, 2009) and the New School (USA, 2011), Shigeru Ban has received the Gold Medal from the French Academy of Architecture (2004), the Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Architecture Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (2005), and the AIJ Prize (2009), granted by the Japanese Institute of Architecture, among other distinctions.

As stated in their Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In line with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord is to be granted to “the work of defending and advancing human rights, as well as promoting and protecting peace, freedom, solidarity, world heritage and, in general, the progress of humanity”.

This year, a total of 36 candidatures comprising 17 nationalities were put forward for the Award for Concord.

This is the last of the eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed in what is now their forty-second year. Previously, the Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts was jointly granted to flamenco singer Carmen Linares and flamenco dancer and choreographer María Pagés; the Award for Communication and Humanities went to journalist Adam Michnik; the Award for Social Sciences was conferred on Mexican archaeologist Eduardo Matos Moctezuma; the Award for Sports went to the Olympic Refuge Foundation and the IOC Refugee Olympic Team; the Award for Literature was conferred on playwright Juan Mayorga; the Award for International Cooperation was bestowed on British former-yachtswoman and social entrepreneur Ellen MacArthur; and the Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research was conferred on scientific experts in the field of artificial intelligence Geoffrey Hinton (Canadian and British), Yann LeCun (French and American), Yoshua Bengio (Canadian) and Demis Hassabis (British).

As is customary, the presentation of the Princess of Asturias Awards will take place in October in a solemn ceremony presided over by TM The King and Queen of Spain, accompanied by TRH Leonor, Princess of Asturias, and Infanta Sofía.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture symbolizing the Award, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50 000.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades