Christoph Varga © Polnisches Institut Wien

Adam Zagajewski

2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature

Christoph Varga © Polnisches Institut Wien



Among other awards, he holds the Kościelski Foundation Literary Award (1975), the Tucholsky Award (1985), the French PEN Club Freedom Award (1987), the Neustadt International Prize for Literature (2004) and the Griffin Poetry Prize Jury Lifetime Recognition Award (2016). In 1999, he was elected a member of the Berlin Academy of Arts and in 2012 received an honorary degree from the Jagiellonian University, Krakow. He has also received the Bronze Cross of Merit (Poland) and the Official Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta.

Minutes of the Jury