© Frank Vinken

Svante Pääbo

2018 Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research

© Frank Vinken



Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), the Academia Europaea, the US National Academy of Sciences and The Royal Society of London (2011 Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities), among other such institutions, Svante Pääbo has received honorary degrees from several universities.

  • Louis Jeantet Prize for Medicine
    Switzerland, 2005
  • Kistler Prize
    USA, 2009
  • Gruber Genetics Prize
    USA, 2013
  • Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences
    USA, 2015
  • Keio Medical Science Prize
    Japan, 2016
  • Dan David Prize
    Israel, 2017
  • Human Frontier Science Program Organization Nakasone Award

He also holds the Theodor Bücher Medal from the European Federation of Biochemical Societies and HM The King of Sweden’s Medal.

Minutes of the Jury