Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

You are in:

  1. Communication

Start of main content

Premios Princesa de Asturias


223 candidatures from fifty-one countries have been nominated for the 2015 Princess of Asturias Awards

Pending the nominations yet to be submitted for the Award for Concord, the deadline for which is 16th July


223 nominations from 51 countries have been submitted for the Princess of Asturias Awards in this their 35th year.

The deadline for submitting nominations closed yesterday, Thursday, 12th March, with the exception of the Award for Concord, the deadline for which is 16th July, as this award will be conferred in September. Jury members and laureates from previous editions may submit their own proposals up to a minimum of three days before the date established for convening the corresponding jury.

Those who have submitted nominations include prestigious universities, academic institutions and research centres of international scope, directors of the world’s major museums, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and prior laureates of the Awards.

More than 150 public figures expert in each of the fields make up the eight Juries (one for each Award), the meetings of which are scheduled to begin in early May in Oviedo.

As is customary, the Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony will be held at the Campoamor Theatre in this city in October and will be presided over by TM The King and Queen.

There are eight Princess of Asturias Awards: the Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord and Sports. As stated in the Regulations governing their conferral, the awards are aimed at “rewarding the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanistic work performed at an international level by individuals, institutions, or groups of individuals or institutions”. Nominees should “be outstandingly exemplary and their work or contribution should be of acknowledged international standing”.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

In 2014, the laureates were:

Prince of Asturias Award  for the Arts

Frank O. Gehry

Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences

Joseph Pérez

Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities

Joaquín S. Lavado Tejón, Quino

Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research

Avelino Corma Canós

Mark E. Davis

Galen D. Stucky

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature

John Banville

Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation

The Fulbright Program

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports

New York City Marathon

Prince of Asturias Award for Concord

Caddy Adzuba

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades