Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu


End of Secondary Menu

You are in:

  1. 2018 Special |
  2. Laureates


Start of main content

2018 Princess of Asturias Awards Laureates

  • Martin Scorsese Arts Martin Scorsese is an Academy Award-winning Director and one of the most influential filmmakers working today. Scorsese is also the founder and chair of The Film Foundation, a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation and protection of motion picture history.
  • Alma Guillermoprieto Communication and Humanities Born in Mexico City in 1949, Alma Guillermoprieto has spent her entire career in the United States. She moved to New York in her teens to live with her mother. Trained as a dancer, she travelled to Havana in 1969 to teach dance classes and it was there where, in 1978, she first began to work as a freelance journalist. She started her career as Central American reporter for The Guardian newspaper, moving later to The Washington Post, where she was a staff writer in the 1980s.
  • Reinhold Messner and Krzysztof Wielicki Sports Via their sporting careers, Reinhold Messner and Krzysztof Wielicki embody the essence of mountaineering, a sport in which both, through their numerous expeditions to the Himalayas, have accomplished great feats and have marked new milestones, becoming an example and inspiration for new generations of climbers.
  • Michael J. Sandel Social Sciences Michael J. Sandel (Minnesota, USA, 5th March 1953) graduated from Brandeis University (USA) and, after winning a Rhodes Scholarship, received his doctorate from Balliol College, Oxford (UK) in 1981. A year before obtaining his PhD, Sandel began teaching Political Philosophy at Harvard, where he is currently the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Government.
  • Fred Vargas Literature Frédérique Audoin-Rouzeau (Paris, 7th June 1957), known by the pseudonym Fred Vargas, is a French writer, archaeozoologist and medievalist, and author of crime fiction novels.
  • Amref Health Africa International Cooperation Amref Health Africa is a non-profit organization founded in Kenya in 1957 by doctors Michael Wood (United Kingdom), Tom Rees (USA) and Archibald McIndoe (New Zealand) with the aim of providing quality surgical care to the most remote and neglected populations in East Africa.
  • Svante Pääbo Technical & Scientific Research Svante Pääbo (Stockholm, 20th April 1955) studied History of Science, Egyptology, Russian and Medicine at the University of Uppsala and was a researcher at the Department of Cell Biology, where he earned his PhD in 1986. He undertook postdoctoral research at the Institute of Cellular Biology II, University of Zurich, the Imperial Cancer Research Fund in London and the University of California at Berkeley.
  • Sylvia Earle Concord Sylvia A. Earle (Gibbstown, New Jersey, USA, 1935) made her first underwater dive at seventeen years of age and is still active today. A graduate of Florida State University, she earned her PhD from Duke University, subsequently carrying out research at the California Academy of Sciences and at the University of California at Berkeley, the Radcliff Institute and Harvard University.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades