Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 03/11/2016

215 candidatures from fifty countries have been nominated for the 2016 Princess of Asturias Awards

Pending the nominations yet to be submitted for the Award for Concord, the deadline for which is 14th July


215 nominations from 50 countries have been submitted for the Princess of Asturias Awards in this their 36th year.

The deadline for submitting nominations closed yesterday, Thursday, 10th March, with the exception of the Award for Concord, the deadline for which is 14th July, as this award will be conferred in September. Jury members and laureates from previous editions may submit their own proposals up to a minimum of three days before the date established for convening the corresponding jury.

Those who have submitted nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and prior laureates of the Awards.

More than 150 public figures expert in each of the fields make up the eight Juries (one for each Award), the meetings of which are scheduled to begin in early May in Oviedo.

As is customary, the Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony will be held at the Campoamor Theatre in this city in October and will be presided over by TM The King and Queen.

There are eight Princess of Asturias Awards: the Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord and Sports. As stated in the Regulations governing their conferral, the awards are aimed to “reward the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. Nominees should “be outstandingly exemplary and their work or contribution should be of acknowledged international standing”.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades