Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 10/02/2023

Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman, 2021 Princess of Asturias Award For Technical & Scientific Research, win the Nobel Prize of Physiology or Medicine


The researchers Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine today, after their career was recognized, along with Philip Felgner, Uğur Şahin, Özlem Türeci, Derrick Rossi and Sarah Gilbert, with the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Technical & Scientific Research, the past 23rd June 2021.

As stated in the Minutes of the Jury, they were granted the Princess of Asturias Award, for: “The laureates are leading figures in one of the most outstanding events in the history of science. Their work is an exceptional example of the importance of basic science for the protection of health on a global scale. Their long-standing work in basic research has led to innovative applications such as obtaining effective vaccines to fight the COVID-19 pandemic in an extraordinarily short time. Both the development of novel messenger RNA technology and the production of adenovirus-based vaccines open a path of hope for their use against other diseases.”

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades