Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 06/17/2022

Meeting of the jury for the 2022 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord

36 nominations encompassing 17 different nationalities are in the running for this Award, the last of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, now in their 42nd year  


The Jury responsible for conferring the 2022 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord will meet this coming 22nd and 23rd June in Oviedo. This is the last of the eight international awards convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation this year, now in their 42nd year. A total of 36 candidatures encompassing 17 different nationalities are in the running for the Award. The meetings will be held at the Reconquista Hotel, Oviedo.

As stated in the Foundation’s Statutes, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord shall be aimed at recognizing “the work of defending and advancing human rights, as well as that of promoting and protecting peace, freedom, solidarity, world heritage and, in general, the progress of humanity.”

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of fifty thousand euros.

As usual, the Jury for the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord will be composed largely of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

Deliberations will commence at 6:00pm on Wednesday, 22nd June, in the hotel’s Salón Covadonga (Chapel), immediately after the taking of the official photo. The Jury’s decision will be made public at 12 noon the following day, Thursday, in the same room. Following this, the members of the Jury may be interviewed.

This is the last of the eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed in what is now their forty-second year. Previously, the Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts was jointly granted to Spanish flamenco singer Carmen Linares and Spanish flamenco dancer and choreographer María Pagés; the Award for Communication and Humanities went to Polish journalist Adam Michnik; the Award for Social Sciences was conferred on Mexican archaeologist Eduardo Matos Moctezuma; the Award for Sports went to the Olympic Refuge Foundation and the IOC Refugee Olympic Team; the Award for Literature was conferred on Spanish playwright Juan Mayorga; and the Award for International Cooperation was bestowed on British former-yachtswoman and social entrepreneur Ellen MacArthur and the Award for Technical and Scientific Research to Scientific experts in the field of artificial intelligence Geoffrey Hinton (Canadian and British), Yann LeCun (French and American), Yoshua Bengio (Canadian) and Demis Hassabis (British).

Composition of the Jury

The Jury will be made up of the following persons:

  • Adrián Barbón Rodríguez (chair)
  • Pedro de Silva Cienfuegos-Jovellanos (acting secretary)
  • Fernando de Almansa Moreno-Barreda, Viscount of Castillo de Almansa
  • Ernesto Antolin Arribas
  • José Antonio Caicoya Cores
  • Manuel Contreras Caro
  • Sol Daurella Comadrán
  • Ignacio Eyriès García de Vinuesa
  • Isidro Fainé Casas
  • José Antonio Fernández Rivero
  • Luis Fernández-Vega Sanz
  • Ana González Rodríguez
  • Alicia Koplowitz Romero de Juséu
  • Laureano Lourido Artime
  • Marcelino Marcos Líndez
  • Adolfo Menéndez Menéndez
  • Enrique Moreno González
  • Carlos Navalpotro Fuster
  • María del Pino Calvo-Sotelo
  • Marc Puig Guasch
  • Gregorio Rabanal Martínez
  • Helena Revoredo de Gut
  • Matías Rodríguez Inciarte
  • Juan Sánchez-Calero Guilarte
  • Gonzalo Sánchez Martínez
  • Antonio Suárez Gutiérrez
  • Gonzalo Urquijo y Fernández de Araoz
  • Manuel Villa-Cellino Torre
  • Maarten Wetselaar
  • Ignacio Ybarra Aznar


In order to minimize the risk of contagion and spread of the virus, the following recommendations apply regarding news coverage of the Jury meetings:

  • Attendance is limited to one graphic reporter (photo or video) and one news writer per news medium.
  • Bring a mask and wear it correctly at all times, covering nose and mouth.
  • Keep a safe distance.



Iframe code for live streaming of the announcement of the jury’s decision:

<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcJgYjozds4" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades