Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 06/09/2023

Meeting of the jury for the 2023 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord

47 nominations encompassing 18 different nationalities are in the running for this Award, the last of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, now in their 43rd year


The Jury responsible for conferring the 2023 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord will meet this coming 13th and 14th June in Oviedo. This is the last of the eight international awards convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation this year, now in their 43rd year. A total of 47 candidatures encompassing 18 different nationalities are in the running for the Award. The meetings will be held at the Reconquista Hotel.

As stated in the Foundation’s Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research is to be aimed at “recognizing the work of defending and advancing human rights, as well as that of promoting and protecting peace, freedom, solidarity, world heritage and, in general, the progress of humanity.”

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of fifty thousand euros.

As usual, the Jury for the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord will be composed largely of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

Deliberations will commence at 5:00pm on Tuesday, 13th June, in the hotel’s Salón Covadonga (Chapel), immediately after the taking of the official photo. The Jury’s decision will be made public at 12 noon the following day, Wednesday, in the same room. Following this, the members of the Jury may be interviewed.

This is the last of the eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed in what is now their forty-third year. Previously, the Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts was conferred on American actress Meryl Streep, the Award for Communication and Humanities went to Italian lecturer, writer and philosopher Nuccio Ordine, the Award for Social Sciences was granted to French historian Hélène Carrère d’Encausse, the Award for Sports went to Kenyan athlete Eliud Kipchoge, the Award for Literature was conferred on Japanese writer Haruki Murakami, the Award for International Cooperation was bestowed on the Drugs for Neglected Diseases initiative (DNDi) and the Award for Technical and Scientific Research to American biologists Jeffrey I. Gordon and Peter Greenberg and American biochemist Bonnie L. Bassler.

Composition of the Jury

The Jury will be made up of the following persons:

  • Adrián Barbón Rodríguez (chair)
  • Pedro de Silva Cienfuegos-Jovellanos (acting secretary)
  • Fernando de Almansa Moreno-Barreda, Viscount of Castillo de Almansa
  • Ernesto Antolin Arribas
  • Bernardo Calleja Fernández
  • Alfredo Canteli Fernández
  • Carlos Casanueva Varas
  • Manuel Contreras Caro
  • Jacobo Cosmen Menéndez-Castañedo
  • Ignacio Eyriès García de Vinuesa
  • Isidro Fainé Casas
  • Ana Isabel Fernández Álvarez
  • Pedro Luis Fernández Pérez
  • José Antonio Fernández Rivero
  • Luis Fernández-Vega Sanz
  • Sabino García Vallina
  • Ignacio Garralda Ruiz de Velasco
  • Ana González Rodríguez
  • Jaime Gorbeña Yllera
  • Belén Gualda González
  • Eduardo Hochschild Beeck
  • Laureano Lourido Artime
  • Marcelino Marcos Líndez
  • Pedro Martín Barón
  • Enrique Moreno González
  • Carlos Navalpotro Fuster
  • José Oliu i Creus
  • María del Pino Calvo-Sotelo
  • Gregorio Rabanal Martínez
  • Matías Rodríguez Inciarte
  • Gonzalo Sánchez Martínez
  • Juan Sánchez-Calero Guilarte
  • Antonio Suárez Gutiérrez
  • Gonzalo Urquijo Fernández de Araoz
  • Manuel Villa-Cellino Torre
  • Ignacio Ybarra Aznar



Iframe code for live streaming of the announcement of the jury’s decision:

<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/UZOIoyIqjJ0" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades