Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 11/13/2015

The call for nominations for the 2016 Princess of Asturias Awards is now open

The Foundation will distribute the Regulations for the Awards in the coming weeks

Nominations can now be submitted via the Foundation’s website


The Princess of Asturias Foundation has now opened the Call for Nominations for the 2016 Princess of Asturias Awards. In the coming weeks, it will distribute the publication containing the Call and the Regulations for the Awards, in what will now be their thirty-fourth edition. The publication is already available on the Foundation’s website (www.fpa.es ) in Spanish, English, French, German and Portuguese.

The Regulations establish that the following may submit nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

Also on the Internet

Nominations may be submitted by mail, at the institution’s head office and by email (fpa@fpa.es). Abundant information about the institution, its history, activities, Laureates, etc., is also available in a number of different languages on the Foundation’s website.

Princess of Asturias Awards

There are eight Princess of Asturias Awards: the Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord and Sports. As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, they are aimed “at rewarding the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”.

The deadline for submitting nominations, which ends on 10th March 2016, is extended to 14th July for the Award for Concord. Each Princess of Asturias Award has its own Jury, composed of specialists in the areas under consideration. The Jury for the Award for Concord consists mainly of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

The formal Awards Ceremony is traditionally held in autumn at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, the capital of the Principality of Asturias. Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia bearing the Foundation’s coat of arms.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades