Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 04/21/2017

The meetings of the juries responsible for granting the 2017 Princess of Asturias Awards will commence on 3rd May

288 nominations had been submitted as of 30th March


In all, more than 150 public figures will make up the eight Juries responsible for granting the Princess of Asturias Awards (one for each Award). The first of the jury meetings will take place this coming 3rd May. This will be the thirty-seventh edition of the Awards which are conferred annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Deliberations will take place at the Reconquista Hotel, in Oviedo, according to the following schedule:


  • Arts: 3rd and 4th May
  • Communication and Humanities : 9th and 10th May
  • International Cooperation: 16th and 17th May
  • Sports: 23rd and 24th May
  • Social Sciences: 30th and 31st May
  • Literature: 7th and 8th June
  • Technical  and Scientific Research: 13th and 14th June
  • Concord: 20th and 21st June

On the first day of the meeting, the members of the corresponding jury will meet with the media around 11:00am, immediately prior to the beginning of the deliberations, which will commence at 11:30am. The decision will be announced at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on the second day each jury meets.

The Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony will take place in October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, in a solemn event presided over by Their Majesties The King and Queen of Spain.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

Nominations submitted

At the close of the nomination period, 30th March last, the Foundation’s offices had received 288 candidatures from 57 countries. Those submitting nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and laureates from previous years.

The Regulations establish that the following may submit nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the Jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades