Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 04/22/2022

The meetings of the juries responsible for granting the 2022 Princess of Asturias Awards will commence on 4th May

312 nominations had been submitted as of 3rd March 


Around 170 public figures will make up the eight Juries responsible for granting the Princess of Asturias Awards (one for each Award). The first jury will meet this coming 4th May. This will be the forty-two edition of the Awards conferred annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Deliberations will take place at the Reconquista Hotel, in Oviedo, according to the following schedule:


  • Arts: 4th and 5th May
  • Communication and Humanities: 10th and 11th May
  • Social Sciences : 17th and 18th May
  • Sports: 24th and 25th May


  • Literature: 31st May and 1st June
  • International Cooperation: 8th and 9th June
  • Technical and Scientific Research : 14th and 15th June
  • Concord: 22nd and 23rd June

On the first day of the meeting, the members of the corresponding jury will meet with the media around 11:00am, immediately prior to the beginning of deliberations, which will commence at 11:30am. The decision will be announced at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on the second day each jury meets.

As is customary, the presentation of the Princess of Asturias Awards will take place in October in a solemn ceremony presided over by Their Majesties The King and Queen of Spain, accompanied by Their Royal Highnesses The Princess of Asturias and the Infanta Sofía of Spain.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia, and a cash prize of €50,000.

Nominations submitted

At the close of the nomination period, 3rd March last, the Foundation’s offices had received 312 nominations comprising 60 nationalities. Those submitting nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and laureates from previous years.

The Regulations establish that the following may submit nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: Laureates from previous editions, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the Jury of which they are a member, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation and other public figures and institutions of renown.

Laureates from previous years and Jury members that submit nominations may do so up until six calendar days prior to the date of convening the jury corresponding to the category for which such nominations are submitted.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades