Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Raymond Samuel Tomlinson, Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, has died

Joint Laureate in 2009, together with Martin Cooper, “considered the fathers of the mobile phone and email


Raymond Samuel Tomlinson, 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, has died.

The Jury decided to bestow the Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research on Raymond Samuel Tomlinson and Martin Cooper “respectively considered the fathers of the mobile phone and e-mail.”

According to the Minutes of the Jury, “These two discoveries are among the greatest technological innovations of our time, revolutionizing the way that thousands of millions of people communicate worldwide and contributing decisively to the advancement of knowledge. In particular, they are key elements for achieving the United Nations ‘Millennium Development Goals’ that will enable every citizen on the planet to exercise their right to communicate. (…) All this constitutes an important aid to the Developing Countries, for which it supposes a source of equality and opportunities, bringing nearer basic services such as health and education. With this Award, the Jury also wishes to recognize the effort and work of all those people who have contributed to fostering and developing the mobile phone and e-mail services, forms of communication that give rise to a connected world, free from geographical or temporal barriers.”

The Jury, chaired by Enrique Moreno, was also made up of José Luis Álvarez Margaride, Juan Luis Arsuaga, Juan Ignacio Cirac, Pedro Miguel Echenique, Juliana Fariña González, Antonio Fernández-Rañada, Luis Fernández-Vega Sanz, Santiago Grisolía, María del Carmen Maroto Vela, Petra Mateos, Amador Menéndez Velázquez, Rafael Nájera Morrondo, César Nombela Cano, Fernando Ortíz Maslloréns, Ana Pastor, Miguel Ángel Pesquera, Eduardo Punset, José Ramón Quirós García, Julio R. Villanueva, Guillermo Suárez Fernández, Guillermo Ulacia and José Antonio Martínez Álvarez (as acting secretary).

The Awards Ceremony, which took place on 23rd October, was presided over by HM King Felipe VI, then Prince of Asturias. Besides the address by His Majesty, the speeches at the ceremony were given by Ismaíl Kadaré; José Ramón Narro, representing the National Autonomous University of Mexico; Klaus Wowereit, Governing Mayor of Berlin; Margaret Chan, Director-General of the World Health Organization; and the president of the Foundation, Matías Rodriguez Inciarte.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades