Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Giovanni Sartori, Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, has died

Bestowed with the Award in 2005 for “his considerable research on contemporary debate in political science”


Giovanni Sartori, 2005 Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, has died.

According to the minutes of the Jury bestowing the Award, “(…) His commitment towards the range of safeguards and freedom of an open society is ever-present in his work, which is devoted in particular to establishing a theory of democracy. Professor Sartori has reflected upon and called attention to the social and institutional problems of our times and to the need to offset the different forces of democratic society.His thinking enjoys extraordinary prestige amongst international public opinion.”

The Jury was chaired by Manuel Fraga Iribarne and composed of Gonzalo Anes, Carmen Caffarel, Pilar del Castillo, Adela Cortina, Álvaro Cuervo, Carlos Espinosa de los Monteros, Ángel Gabilondo, José Luis García Delgado, Manuel Jesús González, Luis González Seara, María del Carmen Iglesias, Juan Antonio Martínez Camino, Hans Meinke, Adolfo Menéndez, Aurelio Menéndez Menéndez, Ana Rosa Migoya, José Oliu i Creus, José Manuel Otero Novas and Juan Vázquez, as acting secretary.

The Awards Ceremony, which took place on 21st October, was presided over by HM King Felipe VI, then Prince of Asturias. Besides the address by His Majesty, the speeches at the ceremony were given by Giovanni Sartori, Nélida Piñón, Evelyne Franc, Superioress General Daughters of Charity of Saint Vincent de Paul, and the then President of the Foundation, José Ramón Álvarez Rendueles.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades