Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The call for the 2012 Prince of Asturias Awards now open

Sculpture of Joan Miró ©FPA

Thousands of pamphlets are distributed worldwide.

Candidatures may also be presented via the Foundation’s website.

The period for presenting candidatures for the 2012 Prince of Asturias Awards, which are now being held for the thirty second time, is now open.

The Foundation will distribute the pamphlet containing the official announcement for candidatures and rules for the Awards. Candidacies may now also be presented via the web page of the Foundation (www.fpa.es).

As in previous years, the regulations are sent to research centres, academies, universities, the diplomatic corps and major figures world-wide as well as the laureates from previous editions. Thousands of pamphlets are mailed in Spain and distributed by special courier service elsewhere.

By Internet

Proposals can be sent to the Foundation's head office by mail or e-mail (fpa@fpa.es). Full information in Spanish and English on the institution, its history, activities, laureates and so forth can be accessed at this Foundation's own server (www.fpa.es). The official announcement for candidatures and the rules are also available there in French, German and Portuguese.

Prince of Asturias Awards

There are eight Prince of Asturias Awards: Communication and Humanities, the Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Sports and Concord. They are intended, to quote the Foundations Statutes, “to reward the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanistic work performed by individuals, groups, or institutions world-wide.”

The deadline for proposing candidates is March 15th 2011. This date is extended till July 19th for the Concord and Sports Awards.
Each of the Prince of Asturias Awards has its own jury, made up of specialists in the area, with the exception of the Concord Award jury, which is made up of the Patrons of the Prince of Asturias Foundation.
Since the Prince of Asturias Awards were inaugurated in 1981 they have acquired considerable international prestige. The grand presentation ceremony is traditionally held in autumn at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, the capital of the Principality of Asturias. It is presided over by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturias, accompanied by H.R.H. the Princess of Asturias and is attended by outstanding figures from national and international social and cultural circles.

Each of the eight Prince of Asturias Awards comprises a diploma, a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Awards, an insignia bearing the Foundation’s coat of arms, and a cash prize of €50,000.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades