Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


188 candidatures from forty-eight countries in contention for the 2012 Prince of Asturias Awards

Sculpture of Joan Miró ©FPA

These exclude nominations for Sports and Concord Award categories, which have a 19th July deadline.

188 candidatures from 48 countries have been nominated for this year’s Prince of Asturias Awards, now being held for the thirty-second time.

The deadline for nominations ended on Thursday, 15th March, except for the Sports and Concord Awards, for which the deadline is 19th July, as the juries bestowing these awards meet in September. Jury members may make their own proposals up to a minimum of three days before the date established for convening the corresponding jury.

Those institutions and individuals presenting nominations include prestigious universities, academic institutions and research centres of international scope, directors of the main museums worldwide, prior laureates of the Prince of Asturias Awards and other personalities, Spain’s ambassadors and representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain.

Over hundred and fifty public figures, each one an expert in one of the categories, make up the eight Juries (one for each of the Awards) that will begin their deliberations in Oviedo in the beginning of May.

The Prince of Asturias Awards presentation ceremony will be held at Oviedo's Campoamor Theatre in October. The gala ceremony is to be presided by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturias.

There are eight Award categories: Communication and Humanities, Arts, Letters, Social Sciences, Scientific and Technical Research, International Cooperation, Sports and Concord. Each is intended to “acknowledge the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work in the international milieu done by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions” and candidatures should meet the requirement of “being outstandingly exemplary and their work or contribution should be of acknowledged international standing.”

Each Prince of Asturias Award carries with it a cash prize of fifty thousand euros, the sculpture commissioned from Joan Miró to symbolise the Awards, a diploma and an insignia.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades