Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The Foundation is distributing the regulations for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Awards, now in their thirty-third edition

The submission of nominations via the Internet is now enabled.


The Prince of Asturias Foundation has begun distributing the publication containing the Call for Nominations and the Regulations for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Awards, in what will be their thirty-third edition. The publication is now available on the Foundation's website in Spanish, English, French, German and Portuguese.

As usual, the Regulations will be sent to academies, cultural centres and research institutions, universities, diplomatic missions and prominent figures from around the world, as well as to all the laureates from previous editions. The distribution of these thousands of booklets is made by mail, within Spain, and by a special courier service to other countries.

Also on the Internet

Nominations may be submitted by mail, at the institution's head office and by email (fpa@fpa.es). Abundant information about the institution, its history, activities, laureates, etc., is also available in a number of different languages on the Foundation website.  

Prince of Asturias Awards

There are eight Prince of Asturias Awards: Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord and Sports. As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, they are aimed "at rewarding the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions".

The deadline for submitting nominations, which ends on 14th March 2013, is extended to 18th July for the Award for Concord.

Each Prince of Asturias Award has its own Jury, composed of specialists in the areas under consideration. The Concord Jury consists mainly of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

Since their first edition in 1981, the Prince of Asturias Awards have achieved great international prestige. The solemn ceremony at which all the awards are presented is traditionally held in the autumn at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, the capital of Asturias, under the presidency of HRH The Prince of Asturias. The ceremony is attended by the most prominent national and international figures of society and the world of culture.

Each Prince of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of € 50,000, a diploma and an insignia bearing the Foundation's coat of arms.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades