Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Concord

37 nominations from 31 different countries are in the running for this Award, the last of eight international Prince of Asturias Foundation Awards, and which are now in their thirty-third year.

Jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Concord. ©FPA

The jury responsible for conferring the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Concord will meet this coming 3rd and 4th September in Oviedo. This is the last of the eight international awards convened by the Prince of Asturias Foundation this year, in this its thirty-third edition.

According to the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards aim “to reward scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Prince of Asturias Award for Concord shall be conferred on thosewhose work contributes outstandingly to the defence of human rights, to the promotion of peace, freedom, solidarity, the protection of heritage and, in general, to the progress of Mankind”.

The Regulations establish that the following may present nominations for the different Prince of Asturias Award categories: award winners from previous editions, those personalities and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic missions in Spain, the members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the jury of which they are a member, and other personalities and institutions of renown.

There are 37 nominations in the running for this Award from Argentina, Bangladesh, Belarus, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russia, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela and Spain.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The jury for the Prince of Asturias Award for Concord -which, as usual, will be composed largely of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation- will meet at the Reconquista Hotel.

Deliberations will commence at 5:30pm on Tuesday, 3rd September, in the hotel’s Salón Covadonga (Chapel) and the jury’s decision will be made public at 12 noon the following day, Wednesday, in the same room. Following this, the members of the jury may be interviewed.

This is the last of the eight Prince of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year, in what is their 33rd edition. Previously, the Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts was conferred on the Austrian filmmaker and playwright Michael Haneke, the Award for Social Sciences to the Dutch sociologist Saskia Sassen, the Award for Communication and Humanities to the American photographer Annie Leibovitz, the Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research was jointly bestowed on the physicists Peter Higgs (UK) and François Englert (Belgium) together with the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), the Prince of Asturias Award for Literature on the Spanish writer Antonio Muñoz Molina, the Award for International Cooperation on the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science and the Prince of Asturias Award for Sports was conferred on the Spanish golfer José María Olazábal.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es



- Ramón Aguirre Rodríguez

- Fernando de Almansa Moreno-Barreda, vizconde del Castillo de Almansa

- José Ramón Álvarez Rendueles

- Rosa Isabel Aza Conejo

- Adolfo Barthe Aza

- Antonio Basagoiti García-Tuñón

- Antonio Brufau Niubó

- Francisco Daurella Franco

- Felipe Fernández Fernández

- Javier Fernández Fernández

- Pedro Luis Fernández Pérez

- José Antonio Fernández-Rivero

- Emilio Ferré Solé

- Francisco de la Fuente Sánchez

- José Luis García Palacios      

- Agustín Iglesias Caunedo

- Alicia Koplowitz Romero de Juséu, marquesa de Bellavista

- Teresa Mallada de Castro

- Carmen Moriyón Entrialgo

- María del Pino Calvo-Sotelo

- Matías Rodríguez Inciarte

- Ángel Ron Güimil

- Pedro Sanjurjo González

- Ramón Sotomayor Jáuregui

- Antonio Suárez Gutiérrez

- José B. Terceiro Lomba

- José María Villanueva Fernández

- Juan Miguel Villar Mir, marqués de Villar Mir

- Santiago de Ybarra y Churruca, conde de El Abra

- Santiago Zaldumbide Viadas

- Pedro de Silva Cienfuegos-Jovellanos (acting secretary)



  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11582.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9


  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27500 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498



  • The Foundation's official account: @fpa_info
  • Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards



Links for live streaming of the announcement of the jury's decision.

  • Flash PC: htmp://b26747.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep?b=26747&s=livestream/26747/livestream
  • Android: rtsp://B26747.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep/26747/livestream
  • Apple IOS: http://B26745.cdn.telefonica.com/26745/playlist.m3u8


- Previous award-winners



1986 -  Vicariate of Solidarity of Chile

1987 - Villa El Salvador (Lima – Peru)

1988 - International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (UICN) and World-Wide Fund for Nature

1989 - Stephen Hawking

1990 - Sephardic Communities

1991 - Médicins sans Frontières and Medicus Mundi

1992 - American Foundation for AIDS Research (amfAR)

1993 - The Basque Gesture for Peace Movement

1994 - Messengers of Peace (Spain), National Movement of Street Children (Brazil), Save the Children (UK)

1995 - H. M. Hussein I, King of Jordan

1996 - Adolfo Suárez González

1997 - Yehudi Menuhin and Mstislav Rostropovich

1998 - Nicolás Castellanos, Vicente Ferrer, Joaquín Sand Gadea and Muhammad Yunus

1999 - Cáritas Española

2000 - Royal Spanish Academy and Association of Academies of the Spanish Language

2001 - World Network of Biosphere Reserves

2002 - Daniel Barengoim and Edward Said

2003 - Joanne Kathleen Rowling

2004 - The Way of Saint James

2005 - The Daughters of Charity of Saint Vincent de Paul

2006 - UNICEF

2007 - Yad Vasehm, the Holocaust Museum in Jerusalemn

2008 - Ingrid Betancourt

2009 - The City of Berlin, on the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Wall

2010 - Manos Unidas

2011 - Heroes of Fukushima

2012 - Spanish Federation of Food Banks

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades