Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The Call for Nominations for the 2014 Prince of Asturias Awards is now open

The Foundation will distribute the Regulations for the Awards in the coming weeks.

The submission of nominations via the Internet is now enabled.

Joan Miró sculpture. ©FPA

The Prince of Asturias Foundation has opened the Call for Nominations for the 2014 Prince of Asturias Awards. In the coming weeks, it will distribute the publication containing the Call and the Regulations for the Awards, in what will now be their thirty-fourth edition. The publication is now available on the Foundation’s website (www.fpa.es) in Spanish, English, French, German and Portuguese.

The Regulations establish that the following may present nominations for the different Prince of Asturias Award categories: Laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

Also on the Internet

Nominations may be submitted by mail, at the institution’s head office and by email (fpa@fpa.es). Abundant information about the institution, its history, activities, laureates, etc., is also available in a number of different languages on the Foundation website.  

Prince of Asturias Awards

There are eight Prince of Asturias Awards: Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord and Sports. As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, they are aimed “at rewarding the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”.

The deadline for submitting nominations, which ends on 14th March 2013, is extended to 18th July for the Award for Concord. Each Prince of Asturias Award has its own jury, composed of specialists in the areas under consideration. The Concord jury consists mainly of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

Since their first edition in 1981, the Prince of Asturias Awards have achieved great international prestige. The solemn ceremony at which all the awards are presented is traditionally held in the autumn at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, the capital of Asturias, under the presidency of HRH The Prince of Asturias. The ceremony is attended by the most prominent national and international figures of society and the world of culture.

Each Prince of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of € 50,000, a diploma and an insignia bearing the Foundation’s coat of arms.


             - 2013 Laureates

In 2013, the Laureates were:

Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts

Michael Haneke

Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences

Saskia Sassen

Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities

Annie Leibovitz

Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research

Peter Higgs

François Englert

European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature

Antonio Muñoz Molina

Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation

Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports

José María Olazábal

Prince of Asturias Award for Concord

Spanish Organization for the Bild (ONCE)

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades