Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


John Glenn, Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, has died

Joint Laureate in 1999, together with Pedro Duque, Chiaki Mukai and Valery Polyakov, “have contributed to progress in exploration by making common use of technical and human resources from different countries


John Glenn, 1999 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, has died.

The Jury decided to bestow the Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation on Pedro Duque, Chiaki Mukai, Valery Polyakov and John Glenn. “They, along with all those of different nationalities who work to ensure communication between spacecraft and Earth, are showing in practice that international co-operation is not an impossible Utopia; the adventure of outer space proves this, and will be a fine example for those in other fields and for the future progress of mankind.”, as stated in the Minutes of the Jury.

The Jury was chaired by Mr. Leopoldo Calvo Sotelo and made up of Mr. Enrique Álvarez, Mr. Agustín Antuña, Mr. Enrique Fernández-Miranda, Mr. Fernando Ramón Fernández Noval, Mr. Antonio Garrigues Walker, Mr. Martín González del Valle, Mr. Guillermo Kirkpatrick, Mr. Marcelino Oreja Aguirre, Mr. Francisco Pinto Balsemão, Mr. Gregorio Rodríguez Pasero, Mr. Luis Ruiz de Gopegui Miguel, Mr. Alfonso de Salas, Mr. Ovidio Sánchez, Mr. Nicolás Sartorius, Mr. Alfonso de la Serna, Mr. Gustavo Suárez Pertierra, Mr. Santiago Zaldumbide Viadas and with Mr. Teodoro López-Cuesta Egocheaga (as acting secretary).

The Awards Ceremony, which took place on 22nd October, was presided over by HM King Felipe VI, then Prince of Asturias. Besides the address by His Majesty, the speeches at the ceremony were given by Günter Grass, John Glenn and the then president of the Foundation, José Ramón Álvarez Rendueles.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades