Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports

18 nominations encompassing 9 different nationalities are in the running for this Award, the fourth of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, which are now in their 41st edition


The meeting of the Jury responsible for awarding the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, the fourth of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on 2nd June. The awards will be bestowed this year for the 41st time in their history. Eighteen nominations encompassing nine different nationalities, have been nominated for this award.

As an exceptional measure, the Jury meeting will be held via video conference due to the health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Jury’s acting secretary will be appointed by the Foundation, as established in the Regulations for the Awards. Furthermore, its chairperson will be the same as in the previous edition so as to facilitate the holding of the meeting, as approved by the institution’s Board of Trustees.

As stated in the Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Sports shall be aimed at recognizing “careers which, via the promotion, fostering and advancement of sport and sense of solidarity and commitment, have become an example of the benefits that practising sports can bring to people.”

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolizing the accolade, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50,000.

The Jury’s decision will be announced at the end of the meeting that same Wednesday morning/early afternoon via a press release and on the Foundation’s website and social networks. A recording of the reading of the Minutes of the Jury by its chairperson will also be made available to the media via the Virtual Press Room.

Jury composition

The jury will be made up of the following members:

  • Abel Antón Rodrigo (acting president)
  • Theresa Zabell Lucas (acting secretary)
  • Alejandro Blanco Bravo
  • Vicente del Bosque González
  • Emilio Butragueño Santos
  • Miguel Carballeda Piñeiro
  • María Paz Corominas Guerin
  • Joaquín Folch-Rusiñol Corachán
  • Juan Ignacio Gallardo Tomé
  • Patricia García Rodríguez
  • Vicente Jiménez Navas
  • Joan Llaneras Roselló
  • Sylvana Mestre Alexandre
  • Santiago Nolla Zayas
  • Guadalupe Porras Ayuso
  • Paloma del Río Cañadas
  • Albert Sáez Casas
  • Juan Antonio Samaranch Salisachs
  • Sitapha Savané Sagna
  • Alberto Suárez Laso

Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades