Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

You are in:

  1. Communication

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The meetings of the juries responsible for granting the 2019 Princess of Asturias Awards will commence on 23rd April

277 nominations had been subimitted as of 14th March 


Around 150 public figures will make up the eight Juries responsible for granting the Princess of Asturias Awards (one for each Award). The first jury will meet this coming 23rd April. This will be the thirty-ninth edition of the Awards that are conferred annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Deliberations will take place at the Reconquista Hotel, in Oviedo, according to the following schedule:


  • Arts: 23rd and 24th April
  • Communication and Humanities : 29th and 30th April
  • International Cooperation: 7th and 8th May
  • Sports: 14th and 15th May
  • Literature: 21th and 22nd May
  • Social Sciences: 28th and 28th May
  • Technical and Scientific Research: 4th and 5th June
  • Concord: 12th and 13th June

On the first day of the meeting, the members of the corresponding jury will meet with the media around 11:00am, immediately prior to the beginning of deliberations, which will commence at 11:30am. The decision will be announced at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on the second day each jury meets.

The Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony will take place in October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, in a solemn event presided over by Their Majesties The King and Queen of Spain.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia, and a cash prize of €50,000.

Nominations submitted

At the close of the nomination period, 14th March last, the Foundation’s offices had received 277 candidatures from 62 countries. Those submitting nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and laureates from previous years.

The Regulations establish that the following may submit nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: Laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the Jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

Laureates from previous years and Jury members that submit nominations may do so up until six calendar days prior to the date of convening the jury corresponding to the category for which such nominations are submitted.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades