Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 04/19/2024

Meeting of the jury for the 2024 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts

50 nominations encompassing 21 different nationalities are in the running for this Award, the first of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, now in their 44th year 


The Jury responsible for conferring the 2024 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts will meet this coming 23rd and 24th April in Oviedo. This is the first of the eight international awards convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation this year, now in their 44th year. A total of 50 candidatures encompassing 21 different nationalities are in the running for the Award. The meetings will be held at the Barceló Oviedo Cervantes Hotel.

As stated in the Foundation’s Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts is to be granted to “the work of fostering and advancing the art of film-making, theatre, dance, music, photography, painting, sculpture, architecture or any other form of artistic expression.”

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of fifty thousand euros.

On the first day of the meeting at 11:00am on Tuesday 23rd, there will be a family photo of the jury members in the hotel’s “Salón Regenta”, followed by a meeting with the media, immediately prior to its formal constitution and the start of its deliberations, which will commence at 11:30am. Each jury shall have a chairperson and an acting secretary. Both shall be appointed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation and shall have voice and vote.

The Jury’s decision will be announced at 12:00 noon (GMT+2:00) on Wednesday 24th, in the “Salón Regenta”, following which the members of the Jury will be available for interview.

Composition of the Jury

The Jury will be made up of the following persons:

  • Miguel Zugaza Miranda (chair)
  • Sandra Rotondo Urcola (acting secretary)
  • Claude Bussac
  • Josep Maria Flotats i Picas
  • Sergio Gutiérrez Sánchez
  • Maribel López Zambrana
  • Antonio Lucas Herrero
  • Joan Matabosch Grifoll
  • Isabel Muñoz Vilallonga
  • María Pagés Madrigal
  • Helena Pimenta Hernández
  • Martha Thorne
  • Rosa Torres-Pardo
  • Carlos Urroz Arancibia



Iframe code for live streaming of the announcement of the jury’s decision:

<iframe width="560" height="315" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/YzL4twZnr0w?si=PRyXZGu-1VhLICL_" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" referrerpolicy="strict-origin-when-cross-origin" allowfullscreen></iframe>

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades