Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Miguel Delibes and Gonzalo Torrente Ballester

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 1982

The members of the Jury for the 1982 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, Manuel Alvar López, Camilo José Cela, Antonio Gala, José Hierro and Fernando Lázaro Carreter and Juan Rulfo, gathered in Oviedo on the 20th and 21st of April, 1982, under the presidency of Pedro Laín Entralgo and with Emilio Alarcos Llorach acting as secretary, have agreed to grant this award simultaneously to Mr. Miguel Delibes Setién and to Mr. Gonzalo Torrente Ballester.

The Jury, in rewarding these two great writers, wishes to make clear its admiration for the work of each of them, so different from each other and yet, so profoundly expressive about contemporary Spanish reality, observed in very significant spaces, with singular love and fidelity. In both cases their capacity of invention and description has been displayed in a masterful control of the Spanish language, which guarantees their survival in the history of Spanish literature.

Oviedo, 21st April 1982

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades