Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Belisario Betancur

Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation 1983

The members of the Jury for the 1983 Prince of Asturias Award for Latin-American Cooperation*, Miguel Alemán, Manuel Díez Alegría, Rafael Fernández Álvarez, Francisco Fernández Ordóñez, Amaro González de Mesa, Enrique Iglesias, Marcelino Oreja Aguirre, Arístides Royo and Luis Yáñez-Barnuevo gathered in Oviedo on the 30th of June and 1st of July, 1983, under the presidency of Carlos Andrés Pérez and with Teodoro López-Cuesta acting as secretary, have agreed unanimously to grant this award to His Excellency Belisario Betancur, President of Colombia.

In its decision, the Jury has taken into account: the important personal contribution of Dr Betancur and his life-long commitment to the permanent values of the spirit and of culture, to which he has dedicated the greatest of efforts, expressed in recognised intellectual work; his vigorous and hard-working public life, constantly dedicated to the defence of Colombian democratic institutions; and his support for all the initiative of cooperation between the countries of Latin America in the cultural, economic, social and political fields.

Oviedo, 1st July 1983

*From 1989 onwards, this Award was renamed the Award for International Cooperation.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades