Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Vicariate of Solidarity

Prince of Asturias Award for Concord 1986

The members of the Jury for the 1986 Prince of Asturias Award for Liberty*, Emilio Botín, Guido Brunner, Juan Cueto, Edward Heath, Deborah Kerr, Bruno Kreisky, Pedro Laín Entralgo, Antonio Masip, David Rockerfeller, Angel Sánchez Asiaín, Pedro de Silva, Josep Tarradellas, Simone Veil and Kurt Waldheim gathered in Oviedo on the 31st of January, 1986, under the presidency of Walter Scheel and with Marcelino Oreja acting as secretary, have decided to grant this award to the Vicariate of Solidarity of Chile, a body which in such a humble and effective way manages to coordinate diverse social and political forces in Chile, achieving solidarity between all those who defend human rights, justice and freedom. At the same time it promotes humanitarian action and a political impulse to aid a peaceful transition to a system of liberties.

Oviedo, 31st January 1986

*Starting the following year, this award was renamed the Award for Concord.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades