Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Camilo José Cela

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 1987

The members of the Jury for the 1986 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, Manuel Alvar, Carlos Luis Álvarez, Luis María Ansón, Carlos Barral, José Manuel Caballero Bonald, José García Nieto, José Hierro, Fernando Lázaro Carreter, Antonio Mingote, Fernando Morán, Pedro de Silva Cienfuegos-Jovellanos, Gonzalo Torrente Ballester, José Miguel Ullán, Vicente Verdú, Darío Villanueva, gathered in Oviedo on the 26th and 27th of March, 1987 under the presidency of Rafael Lapesa and with Emilio Alarcos Llorach acting as secretary, have decided by majority to grant this award to Camilo José Cela for the high literary quality of his abundant and universally known work and for his singular importance in Spanish letters this century, which he has influenced considerably, reason which making him undoubtedly deserving of this award.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades