Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Juan Antonio Samaranch Torelló

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports 1988

The members of the Jury for the 1988 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports, Sagrario Aguado, Francisco Fernández Ochoa, Carlos Ferrer Salat, Pascual Maragall, Herminio Menéndez, Beltrán Osorio y Díez de Rivera, Duke of Alburquerque, Matías Prats Cañete, Luis Puig, and Pedro Sust, gathered in Oviedo on the 7th and 8th of April, 1988 under the presidency of Javier Gómez Navarro and with Antonio Masip Hidalgo acting as secretary, have decided unanimously to grant this award to Juan Antonio Samaranch.

The Jury has valued a life-long career dedicated to encouraging Spanish and international sport, especially in an Olympic year in which he managed to overcome enormous difficulties to maintain the universality of the Olympics.

Oviedo, 8th April, 1988

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades