Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Pedro Laín Entralgo and Fondo de Cultura Económica de México

Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities 1989

The members of the Jury for the 1989 Prince of Asturias Award for Communications and Humanities, Juan José Alonso Millán, Carlos Luis Álvarez, Ángel Benito, Domingo García Sabell, Fernando Lázaro Carreter, José López Rubio, Javier Pradera, Nativel Preciado, Ramón Rato Figaredo, and Juan Tomás de Salas, gathered in Oviedo on the 20th and 21st of April, 1989 under the presidency of Soledad Ortega and with Román Suárez Blanco acting as secretary, have agreed to divide the Award and to grant that for Communications to the Mexican "Fondo de Cultura Económica" (Economic Culture Fund) and that for Humanities to Pedro Laín Entralgo.

The Jury acknowledges Pedro Laín Entralgo´s long career as a researcher in the field of the history of medicine and his work in various fields of thought.

In granting the Award for Communications to the Mexican Economic Culture Fund they acknowledge the importance, past and present, for Spanish-speaking countries of its programme of publications, which has covered every sector of universal culture over more than half a century of unceasing activity.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades