Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Ricardo Gullón

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 1989

The members of the Jury for the 1989 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, Luis María Ansón, Manuel Arce, Carlos Bousoño, Carmen Conde, Miguel García Posada, Carmen Martín Gaite, Soledad Puértolas and Antonio Vilanova, gathered in Oviedo on the 13th and 14th of April, 1989 under the presidency of Gonzalo Torrente Ballester and with Emilio Alarcos Llorach acting as secretary, have decided to grant this award to Ricardo Gullón, who, during a whole life which has been passionately dedicated to the study of Spanish letters, has managed to make his research work transcend the limits of criticism to become a revelation of the mystery of artistic invention in mankind, a highly personal and genuine literary creation, though which, with exemplary mastery, he has known how to make modern Spanish literature known in numerous universities in the United States.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades