Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Sito Pons

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports 1990

The members of the Jury for the 1990 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports, Jesús Álvarez Cervantes, José María Casanovas, Gonzálo Fernández de Córdova, Duke of Arión, José María García, Javier Gómez Navarro, Jean Claude Killy, HRH Nora Isabel of Lienchtenstein, Marchioness of Mariño, Antonio Masip Hidalgo, Herminio Menéndez, José Luis Vilaseca Guasch gathered in Oviedo on the 6th and 7th of April, 1990 under the presidency of Juan Antonio Samaranch and with Alfonso Rodríguez Allen acting as secretary, have decided by majority to grant this award to Alfonso "Sito" Pons.

The award- winner was World Motorcycle Champion in the 250 cc category in 1988 and 1989 and runner-up in the same class in 1986.

This exceptional sporting career is combined with his role as the elected representative of the riders to international sporting organizations.

The jury has also placed special value on his personal contribution to anti-drug publicity and the active part he has played in road safety campaigns.

Oviedo, 7th April 1990

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades