Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Frederick W. de Klerk and Nelson Mandela

Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation 1992

The Jury for the 1992 Prince of Asturias Award for International Co-operation, comprising Guido Brunner, Emilio Cassinello, Antonio Garrigues Walker, Amaro González de Mesa, Fernando Morán, Marcelino Oreja, Guillermo Perinat, and Nicolás Sartorius, gathered in Oviedo under the presidency of Leopoldo Calvo Sotelo, and with Teodoro López- Cuesta Egocheaga acting as secretary, have agreed to grant the 1992 Prince of Asturias Award for International Co-operation jointly to Frederick Willem De Klerk and Nelson R. Mandela, whose political action and moral influence with two communities divided by deep and long- standing antagonism have, in conditions of extreme difficulty, laid the foundations for peace and co-operation among the citizens of South Africa and the country´s democratic organisation in the future. Their efforts have thus addressed one of the essential issues of our time: multi-racial co-existence within a framework of respect for human rights.

The work of Frederick Willem de Klerk and Nelson R. Mandela has contributed to peace and development in South Africa, and to understanding and co-operation among races and cultures over the entire international community.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades