Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Carl Lewis

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports 1996

The members of the Jury for the 1996 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports, H.R.H. Pilar de Borbón, the Duchess of Badajoz, Mr. Vicente Álvarez Areces, Mr. Richard Carrión, Mr. José María Casanovas, Mr. José Ángel Castro Savoie, Mr. Julián García Candau, Mr. Juan Manuel Gozalo, Mr. Luis Infante Bravo, Ms. María del Carmen Izquierdo, Mr. Pedro Antonio Martín, Mr. Herminio Menéndez, Mr. Pedro Muñiz García, Mr. Santiago Nolla Zayas, Mr. Matías Prats Luque, Mr. José Luis Vilaseca i Guasch, gathered in Oviedo under the presidency of Mr. Juan Antonio Samaranch and with Mr. José María García acting as secretary, have agreed by majority to grant the 1996 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports to Mr. Carl Lewis, considered one of the best athletes of all times.

He holds ten Olympic titles, nine gold medals and one silver, achieved in the four Olympic Games in which he has taken part; Los Angeles, Seoul, Barcelona and Atlanta.

The Jury has esteemed, besides his impressive list of victories which have led him to be known as the "son of the wind", his exemplary participation in the struggle against doping.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades