Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Iker Casillas Fernández and Xavi Hernández Creus

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports 2012

The soccer players Iker Casillas and Xavier Hernandez, outstanding leaders of the Spanish football squad that received the Prince of Asturias Award for Sports in 2010, have forged and maintained a solid friendship since they won the Under-20s World Cup in 1999 with the Spanish team which has contributed to resolving the differences between players of different clubs, promoting fair play and team philosophy as the basis for sporting success.

Iker Casillas Fernández

See more

Iker Casillas Fernández (Madrid, Spain, 1981) was the goalkeeper and captain of Real Madrid and the Spanish football squad. Forged in the Madrid club's youth teams from the under-10s onward, he joined the first team in the 1999-2000 season. Considered the best goalkeeper in the world, he won five league titles with his club (2001, 2003, 2007, 2008 and 2012), one Spanish King's Cup (2011), three Spanish Super Cups (2001, 2003 and 2008), one European Super Cup (2002), two Intercontinental Cups (1998 and 2002) and two UEFA Champions Leagues (2000 and 2002). Two time European Champion (2008 and 2012) and World Champion (2010) with the Spanish team, he has also won several titles with the Spanish youth teams, such as the Under-16s European Cup (1997) and the Under-20s World Cup (1999). He has likewise received the trophy for world's best goalkeeper from the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011), the Golden Glove for world's best goalkeeper (2010) and was included in FIFA's Ideal Team in 2010. Committed to helping the needy, he has created the Iker Casillas Foundation to promote and develop activities that contribute to improving the health and quality of life of children and to promoting gender equality. He is Goodwill Ambassador for the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and collaborates in solidarity campaigns of other organisations such as Plan International. Among other distinctions, he has received the Gold Medal for Sporting Merit (2010).

Xavier Hernández Creus

See more

Xavier Hernández Creus (Terrassa, Barcelona, Spain, 1980) was midfielder for FC Barcelona and the Spanish football squad. He played in Barça's first team in 1998, having come up through the youth teams. Considered the brain and playmaker of the team, he has won six Spanish league titles (1999, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010 and 2011), three UEFA Champions League titles (2006, 2009 and 2011), two Spanish King's Cups (2009 and 2012), five Spanish Super Cups (2006, 2007, 2010, 2011 and 2012), two European Super Cups (2010 and 2012) and two Club World Cups (2010 and 2012). With the Spanish team, he won the Under-20s World Cup (1999), bronze medal in the Under-21s European Cup (2000) and silver medal at the Sydney Olympics, before debuting that year with the Spain's National Football Team, with which he has added two European Cups (2008 and 2012) and a World Cup (2010) to his list of achievements. Awarded Best Game Builder by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics on three occasions (2008, 2009 and 2010), he has also been named best midfielder by the international players' union (FIFPro) and was included in the UEFA and FIFA Ideal Teams in 2008. He has received the Gold Medal for Sporting Merit (2010), the Medal of Honour of Terrassa (2010) and the Prince Felipe Award at the Spanish National Sports Awards (2010).

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades