Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Rafael Moneo

Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts 2012

At its meeting held in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2012 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts, composed of Carlos Fitz-James Stuart Martínez de Irujo, Duke of Huéscar, Mr José Luis Garci Muñoz, Mr Guillermo García-Alcalde Fernández, Mr Enrique González Macho, Mr Emilio Marcos Vallaure, Mr Hans Meinke Paege, Mr Benigno Pendás García, Ms Benedetta Tagliabue, Ms Amelia Valcárcel Bernaldo de Quiros, Mr Benjamin Weil, Mr Miguel Zugaza Miranda, chaired by Mr José Lladó Fernández-Urrutia and with José Antonio Caicoya Cores acting as secretary, has decided to confer the 2012 Prince of Asturias Prize for the Arts on Rafael Moneo Vallés, a Spanish architect of universal scope whose work enriches urban spaces with an architecture that is serene and meticulous. An acknowledged master in both the academic and professional field, Moneo leaves his own mark on each of his creations, at the same time as combining aesthetics with functionality, especially in the airy interiors that act as impeccable settings for great works of culture and the spirit.

Oviedo, 9th May 2012

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades