Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Núria Espert

Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts 2016

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2016 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts, composed of Bárbara Allende Gil de Biedma, José Luis Cienfuegos Marcello, Marzio Conti, Carlos Fitz-James Stuart Martínez de Irujo, Duke of Alba, Josep María Flotats i Picas, Carmen Giménez Martín, Catalina Luca de Tena y García-Conde, Hans Meinke Paege, Elena Ochoa Foster, Alfredo Pérez de Armiñán y de la Serna, Sandra Rotonto Urcola, Benedetta Tagliabue, Patricia Urquiola Hidalgo, Carlos Urroz Arancibia, Miguel Zugaza Miranda, chaired by José Lladó Fernández-Urrutia and with José Antonio Caicoya Cores acting as secretary, has agreed to grant the 2016 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts to Núria Espert.

Núria Espert is one of the most eminent figures in the theatre world. She represents the recovery and continuity of the great tradition of Spanish theatre, both in Spanish and Catalan, and has raised Spanish literature and classical and contemporary theatre to new heights on the international scene over a long and rich career that has brought her acclaim on stages all around the world.

Her theatre is characterized by a fidelity to the ideals and aspirations of humanism and has always placed itself at the service of poetry and the essence of dramatic prose.

Oviedo, 11th May 2016

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades