Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Hispanic Society of America

Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation 2017

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, composed of Rosa María Calaf Solé, Pedro Duque Duque, Paula Farias Huanqui, Gloria Fernández-Lomana García, Christiana Figueres, Margareta Hauschild, Emilio Lamo de Espinosa Michels de Champourcin, Jerónimo López Martínez, Patricio Lorente, Rafael Matesanz Acedos, Jaime Montalvo Correa, Juan Carlos del Olmo Castillejos, Rafael Sánchez Ortega, Luis Sánchez-Merlo Ruiz, chaired by Marcelino Oreja Aguirre, Marquis of Oreja, and with Enrique Fernández-Miranda y Lozana, Duke of Fernandez- Miranda, acting as secretary, has decided to bestow the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation on The Hispanic Society of America, an organization founded in 1904 by Archer Milton Huntington to defend, stimulate appreciation for and advance the art, traditions and history of Spain and Portugal, and of the countries in which Spanish and Portuguese were still spoken.

The Jury has recognized the role of The Hispanic Society of America in promoting Hispanic and Latino culture and values through the creation of a museum, library and educational institution, with free public access, highlighting the importance of the work of The Hispanic Society of America at a time when Hispanic culture, reflected in millions of people, is striving to maintain its presence and vigour throughout America as a whole, most especially with a view to the future.

Oviedo, 17th May 2017

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades