Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Karen Armstrong

Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences 2017

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, made up of María Paz Battaner Arias, Sir John Elliott, Marta Elvira Rojo, Juan Pablo Fusi Aizpurúa, Isabel Gómez-Acebo y Duque de Estrada, Mauro Guillén Rodríguez, Óscar Loureda Lamas, Ricardo Martí Fluxá, Manuel Menéndez Menéndez, Sami Naїr, Joseph Pérez, Isaac Querub Caro, Gustavo Suárez Pertierra, Amelia Valcárcel Bernaldo de Quirós y Fernando Vallespín Oña, chaired by Rafael Puyol Antolín and with Juan Vázquez García acting as secretary, has decided to confer the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences on British thinker and researcher Karen Armstrong.

A scholar of religious phenomena, Dr Armstrong is one of today’s leading authorities in the study of the three religions of the Book: Judaism, Christianity and Islam. She stands out for the depth of her historical analysis, her immense bibliographical and research work, and her active commitment to spreading an ethical message of compassion, peace and solidarity.

Karen Armstrong is also actively involved in various international institutions responsible for fostering civic dialogue on religion. In conferring this award, the Jury wishes to highlight the importance of the study of religions so as to understand contemporary society and today’s world. .

Oviedo, 31st May 2017

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades