Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

All Blacks

Princess of Asturias Award for Sports 2017

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, composed of Alejandro Blanco Bravo, Alberto Borregán Rodríguez, Vicente del Bosque González, Marisol Casado Estupiñán, Josep Maria Casanovas Punti, Juan Ignacio Gallardo Tomé, Patricia García Rodríguez, Santiago Nolla Zayas, Edurne Pasabán Lizarribar, Alfredo Relaño Estapé, Theresa Zabell Lucas, chaired by Abel Antón Rodrigo and with Julián Redondo Pérez acting as secretary, has decided to bestow the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports on the men’s national rugby union team of New Zealand, known as the All Blacks, for having become an icon in this sport worldwide, thanks to its extraordinary sporting achievements over the years, and for reflecting such noble values as solidarity and sportsmanship.

The New Zealand team is the most successful national team in rugby union history. The Jury has also prized its extremely high percentage of wins, which has made it one of the most successful teams in any sport. Furthermore, this team is considered an example of racial and cultural integration that has contributed to the unity of New Zealanders of different origin, symbolized in the haka, a Maori tribal dance that provides a link to their roots and ancestral heritage.

Oviedo, 24th May 2017

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades