Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Amref Health Africa

Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation 2018

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, composed of Maite Arango García-Urtiaga, Josep Borrell Fontelles, Mitchell Codding, Beatriz Domínguez-Gil González, Paula Farias Huanqui, Mbuyi Kabunda Badi, Emilio Lamo de Espinosa Michels de Champourcin, Daniel López Acuña, Jerónimo López Martínez, Jaime Montalvo Correa, Teresa Ribera Rodríguez, Rafael Sánchez Ortega, Luis Sánchez-Merlo Ruiz, chaired by Gustavo Suárez Pertierra and with Rosa María Calaf Solé acting as secretary, has decided to bestow the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation on Amref Health Africa (Global) and Amref Salud África (Spain) for their sustained efforts to respond to the needs of millions of people on the African continent, complementing the actions of local health systems.

By means of this initiative, it has been possible to reach the most vulnerable and remotest populations that would not have regular access to health services, in particular, thanks to its flying doctors piloting light aircraft-ambulances.

This organization also develops distance training programmes to strengthen local capacities in the fight against AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria. Its efforts to eradicate female genital mutilation via social and cultural awareness-raising actions are also worthy of note.

Oviedo, 9th May 2018

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades