Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Reinhold Messner and Krzysztof Wielicki

Princess of Asturias Award for Sports 2018

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, composed of Alberto Borregán Rodríguez, Vicente del Bosque González, Emilio Butragueño Santos, Marisol Casado Estupiñán, Cristina Cubero Alcalde, Isabel Fernández Gutiérrez, Joaquín Folch-Rusiñol Corachán, Ernest Folch i Folch, Andrea Fuentes Faché, Patricia García Rodríguez, Joan Llaneras Roselló, Edurne Pasabán Lizarribar, Alfredo Relaño Estapé, Juan Antonio Samaranch Salisachs, Theresa Zabell Lucas, chaired by Abel Antón Rodrigo and with Julián Redondo Pérez acting as secretary, has unanimously decided to bestow the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports on climbers Reinhold Messner and Krzysztof Wielicki for their unparalleled sports careers and their contribution to the history of mountaineering.

Reinhold Messner, the first man to conquer the summits of the 14 eight-thousanders (the world's highest summits) without artificial oxygen, and Krzysztof Wielicki, the first to climb 3 eight-thousanders in winter, are an honour to this sport and an example of the will to overcome.

Their work of a social and humanitarian nature and in spreading the values of mountaineering has made them an example for humanity. Their deeds will remain in the memory of future generations.

Oviedo, 16th May 2018

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades