Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Carlos Sainz

Princess of Asturias Award for Sports 2020

In the course of its online meeting, the Jury for the 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, made up of Alejandro Blanco Bravo, Alberto Borregán Rodríguez, Vicente del Bosque González, Marquis of Del Bosque, Miguel Carballeda Piñeiro, Carlos Carpio Rodríguez, María Paz Corominas Guerin, Ernest Folch i Folch, Joaquín Folch-Rusiñol Corachán, Vicente Jiménez Navas, Joan Llaneras Roselló, Sylvana Mestre Alexandre, Santiago Nolla Zayas, Edurne Pasabán Lizarribar, Paloma del Río Cañadas, Juan Antonio Samaranch Salisachs, Sitapha Savané Sagna and Alberto Suárez Laso, chaired by Abel Antón Rodrigo and with Theresa Zabell Lucas acting as secretary, has decided to confer the 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports on Carlos Sainz Cenamor for his exceptional performance as a racing driver throughout an outstanding, diverse and ground-breaking career spanning more than three decades among the elite of his sport. Sainz has been voted the best rally driver of all time. He has won the World Cup twice and the Dakar Rally on three occasions, being the most veteran driver to do so at the age of 57. The charismatic Spanish driver has always displayed a great spirit of competitiveness and the will to overcome obstacles combined with effort, discipline and solidarity, which has also been reflected in his constant support for young drivers throughout his long and successful sporting career.

Oviedo, 16th June 2020

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades