Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 04/12/2024

The meetings of the juries responsible for granting the 2024 Princess of Asturias Awards will commence on 23rd April

321 nominations had been submitted as of 7th March


Around 180 public figures will make up the eight Juries responsible for granting the 2024 Princess of Asturias Awards (one for each Award). The first jury will meet this coming 23rd April. This will be the forty-fourth edition of the Awards conferred annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Deliberations will take place at the Barceló Oviedo Cervantes Hotel, in Oviedo, with the exception of the Jury for the Concord Award, which will meet at the Reconquista Hotel, according to the following schedule:


  • Arts: 23rd and 24th April
  • Communication and Humanities: 29th and 30th April


  • Sports: 7th and 8th May
  • Social Sciences : 14th and 15th May
  • Literature: 22nd and 23rd
  • International Cooperation: 28th and 29th May


  • Technical and Scientific Research: 4th and 5th June
  • Concord: 11th and 12th June

n the first day of each meeting, the members of the corresponding Jury will pose for a group photo at 11:00am, following which they will meet with the media, immediately prior to the beginning of deliberations, which will commence at 11:30am. Each jury’s decision will be announced at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on the second day it meets: in the Salón Regenta function room, in the case of the Barceló Oviedo Cervantes Hotel; and in the Salón Covadonga function room, at the Reconquista Hotel.

As is customary, the presentation of the Princess of Asturias Awards will take place in October in a solemn ceremony presided over by Their Majesties The King and Queen of Spain, accompanied by Their Royal Highnesses The Princess of Asturias and Infanta Sofía. Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50,000.

Nominations submitted

At the close of the period for submitting nominations, namely 7th March last, the Foundation’s offices had received 321 candidatures from 55 countries.

Laureates from previous years and members of the Juries –provided they do not present nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the jury of which they are a member– may submit nominations up to six calendar days before the date on which the jury corresponding to the category for which they put forward such nominations is constituted.

Furthermore, those who have submitted nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors and representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades