Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports

24 nominations from 11 different countries are in the running for this award, the fourth of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their XXXVII edition. 


The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, the fourth of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 23rd and 24th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXVII edition in their history. Twenty-fourth candidatures, from eleven different countries, have been nominated for this award. The meetings will be held at the Reconquista Hotel, Oviedo.

As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Sports shall be conferred on those “whose work constitutes an outstanding contribution at an international level to the fostering, development and advancement of sport and whose actions in the sphere of solidarity and social commitment constitute an example of the possibilities the practice of sport provides for the benefit of human beings.”

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The members of the Jury will hold a first meeting with the media at 11:00am (GMT+2:00) on Tuesday 23rd in the hotel’s “Salón de Consejos” (first floor) immediately prior to its formal constitution and the start of its deliberations, which will commence at 11:30am. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon (GMT+2:00) on Wednesday 24th in the “Salón Covadonga” of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es

Jury composition

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • Abel Antón Rodrigo
  • Alejandro Blanco Bravo
  • Alberto Borregán Rodríguez
  • Vicente del Bosque González, Marquis of Del Bosque
  • Marisol Casado Estupiñán
  • Josep María Casanovas i Punti
  • Juan Ignacio Gallardo Tomé
  • Patricia García Rodríguez
  • Santiago Nolla Zayas
  • Edurne Pasabán Lizarribar
  • Alfredo Relaño Estapé
  • Theresa Zabell Lucas
  • Julián Redondo Pérez (acting secretary)

technical data

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 71-15
  • Carrier: 5
  • Rx Frecuency: 12576.0 MHz  
  • Band: Ku  
  • Polarization: Horizontal  
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 Megasímbolos/segundo  
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Carrier: Feed 1 TSA America
  • Rx Frecuency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 MSymbols/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498


Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/F1yd6wn-sfY?ecver=1" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>  


End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades