Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature

27 nominations from 18 different countries are in the running for this award, the sixth of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their XXXV edition.


The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature, the sixth of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on June 9th and 10th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXV edition in their history.

HM King Felipe VI has been the Honorary President of the Foundation since it was established in 1980. Following his proclamation as King of Spain on 19th June 2014, HRH Leonor de Borbón y Ortiz, Princess of Asturias, is now the Honorary President of this institution which annually convenes the Princess of Asturias Awards. The Board of Trustees of the Foundation decided at an extraordinary meeting in Oviedo last October to rename the institution and its awards, which are now called the Princess of Asturias Foundation and Princess of Asturias Awards, respectively.

As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Literature shall be conferred on those “whose literary work represents an outstanding contribution to universal literature”.

Twenty seven candidatures, from Argentina, Chile, China, Cuba, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Japan, Lebanon, Libya, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the United Kingdom, the United States, Uruguay and Spain, have been nominated for this award.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon (GMT+2:00) on Tuesday 9th in the “Salón de Consejos” of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon (GMT+2:00) on Wednesday 10th in the “Salón Covadonga” of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es/en/

Jury composition

The Jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • Xosé Ballesteros Rey
  • Xuan Bello Fernández
  • Blanca Berasátegui Garaizábal
  • José Manuel Blecua Perdices
  • Luis Alberto de Cuenca y Prado
  • José Luis García Martín
  • Berna González Harbour
  • Álex Grijelmo García
  • Beatriz de Moura
  • Rosa Navarro Durán
  • Carme Riera i Guilera
  • Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente
  • Fernando Sánchez Dragó
  • Ana Santos Aramburo
  • Sergio Vila-Sanjuán Robert
  • Darío Villanueva Prieto
  • Juan Villoro Ruiz
  • José Luis García Delgado (acting secretary)

Technical data

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7  
  • RX Frequency: 11594.0 MHz  
  • Band: Ku  
  • Polarization: Horizontal  
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 Megasímbolos/segundo  
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º Oeste
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feed 1 TSA América
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 Megasímbolos/segundo
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498





Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






Iframe code for live streaming of the announcement of the jury’s decision:

<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/4r5R-e2eL5U" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>  


End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades