Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

José López Portillo

Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation 1981

The members of the Jury for the 1981 Prince of Asturias Award for Latin-American Cooperation*, Antonio Garrigues Walker, Amaro González de Mesa, Manuel de Prado y Colón de Carvajal, who delegated his vote, Plácido Arango Arias, Rafael Luis Fernández Álvarez, gathered in Oviedo on the 15th of July, 1981, under the presidency of Jose María de Areilza and with Teodoro López-Cuesta acting as secretary, agreed unanimously to grant this award to José López Portillo, President of the United States of Mexico, taking into account that, under his rule, the disputes between Spain and Mexico were ended for good, thus forging the final link in Hispanic reconciliation and the civil peace of the Spanish people, a process which is fundamental to Latin-American Cooperation.

Oviedo, 15th July 1981

*From 1989 onwards, this Award was renamed the Award for International Cooperation.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades