Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Stephen Hawking

Prince of Asturias Award for Concord 1989

The members of the Jury for the 1989 Prince of Asturias Award for Concorde, José R. Álvarez Rendueles, Agustín Antuña, Plácido Arango, Adolfo Barthe Aza, Claudio Boada, José Antonio Caicoya, José Cosmen Adelaida, Juan Cueto, Antonio Durán, José Ramón Fernández Cuevas, Feliciano Fuster, Francisco Goicoerrotea, Martín González del Valle, Juan Pedro Gómez Jaén, Juan de Herrera, Ignacio Herrero, Teodoro López-Cuesta, José López-Muñiz, José Lladó, José A. Martínez Álvarez, Aurelio Menéndez, Leopoldo Rodés, Santiago Rubio Sañudo, Román Suárez Blanco, Jaime Terceiro, and Rodrigo Uría, gathered in Oviedo on the 25th and 26th of May, 1989 under the presidency of Pedro de Silva and with Graciano García García acting as secretary, have decided by majority to grant this award to Stephen hawking for his transcendental research work into the foundations of space and time, making known to mankind the latest scientific discoveries regarding the origins and destiny of the universe, and for the example of his response to the difficulties which adversity may place upon the human condition, thus contributing to the struggle in favour of progress and against ignorance.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades