Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Arturo Uslar Pietri

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 1990

The members of the Jury for the 1990 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, Luis María Ansón, Rafael Conte Oroz, Carlos Fuentes, Miguel García Posada, Ricardo Gullón, José María Martínez Cachero, Gregorio Salvador and Antonio Vilanova, gathered in Oviedo on the 19th and 20th of April, 1990 under the presidency of Joaquín Calvo Sotelo and with Emilio Alarcos Llorach acting as secretary, have decided to grant this award to Arturo Uslar Pietri, creator of the modern historical novel in Spanish America, whose incessant and fruitful literary activity has greatly contributed to enlivening our common tongue, illuminating the imagination of the New World and enriching the cultural community of the Americas.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades