Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Miguel Induráin

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports 1992

The Jury for the 1992 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports, comprising Vicente Álvarez Areces, José Ángel de la Casa, José María García, Javier Gómez Navarro, Herminio Menéndez and José Luis Vilaseca, gathered in Oviedo under the presidency of Juan Antonio Saramanch, and with Alfonso Rodríguez Allen acting as secretary, have unanimously agreed to express their most sincere congratulations to the Organising Committee of the Barcelona Olympic Games, represented by its President, Pascual Maragall, and its Chief Executive, José Miguel Abad, for the exemplary organisation and success of the Games, as well as to the Higher Council for Sport and the Spanish Olympic Committee for the victories achieved by the Spanish participants.

The Jury hereby agrees by majority to grant this, the sixth Prince of Asturias Award for Sports to Miguel Induráin.

Among other achievements, the award-winner has won the Tour de France on two occasions to date, in 1991 and 1992, and the Giro d´Italia in 1992.

In addition to his indisputable stature as a professional cyclist, Miguel Induráin´s great human values have been ever present throughout his sporting life, and a source of praise from colleagues and competitors alike. His personality, character and temperament, together with his charisma, simplicity and modesty, have always gone hand in hand with his great qualities as a sportsman.

Oviedo, 2nd September 1992

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades