Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Francisco Ayala

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 1998

Gathered together in Oviedo, the Jury for the 1998 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, comprised of Andrés Amorós, Luis María Anson, Pedro Casals, Antonio Colinas, Víctor García de la Concha, Domingo García-Sabell, Soledad Puértolas, Carmen Riera, Darío Villanueva, presided over by Fernando Lázaro Carreter, and with José María Martínez Cachero acting as secretary, has decided, by a majority, to grant the 1998 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters to Francisco Ayala.

Francisco Ayala is one of the most accomplished intellectual figures of our contemporary literature: avant-garde writer in the pre-civil war years, sociologist, professor in many American universities, memoirist, writer of articles, one of the foremost writers during the years of exile, master in the use of our language.

All of his work is characterised by its lucidity, open-mindedness, and delving into the human condition, never afraid of reaching what is at bottom. His broad influence spreads throughout the Hispanic world.

Oviedo, 22 May 1998

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades